Security Forces Headquarters - (Jaffna)

To be an effective instrument to the Government Endeavour to cultivate national harmony in Jaffna Peninsula through uplifting the physical quality of life and spiritual value of the people.

18th December 2021 14:12:41 Hours

New Jaffna Commander Assumes Duties

Major General DGS Senarath Yapa RWP RSP ndu assumed duties as the Commander Security Forces - Jaffna on Friday, 17 December 2021. A Guard of Honour was extended to the incoming Commander by the troops of the 11th Battalion Sri Lanka Light Infantry at the Security Force Headquarters Jaffna. He placed his signature in the first official document to mark assuming duties, amidst chanting of Seth Pirith in the presence of General Officers Commanding 51, 52 and 55 Infantry Divisions, Commander Forward Maintain Area (North) and Senior Staff Officers of Security Force Headquarters Jaffna.

Religious dignitaries of Hindu, Catholic and Islam were also present during the taking over formalities and blessed him for his new appointment. He planted a mango sapling (Magnifera Indica) marking his appointment as the Commander Security Forces Jaffna.This was followed a group photograph.

Later, new Jaffna Commander attended the commemoration of fallen War Heroes of the Armed Forces who served under Security Forces Headquarters Jaffna and floral tribute was offered to those heroes at the Palaly War Heroes' Monument with the participation of Senior Officers and Other Ranks of the Security Force Headquarters (Jaffna).

Afterwards, new Jaffna Commander addressed the Division Commanders, Brigade Commanders, Staff Officers, Commanding Officers of affiliated battalions and troops of Security Forces Headquarters Jaffna.

Prior to new appointment, Major General Senarath Yapa held the appointment of Commander, Security Forces West.

The Commander FMA(N), General Officer Commandings 52, 52 and 55 Infantry Divisions, Brigade Commanders of under Command Brigades, Commanding Officers of under command battalions, Officers and Other Ranks of the SFHQ (Jaffna) were present at the ceremony.